Sweat (poem)

I was in a sweaty place once.
There were people chanting with their teeth
hanging out of their mouths, slapping
their knees with flimsy fingers.

They all watched the stage and
the man with his big blue ball.
He tossed it in the air and pushed
it to the crowd with his stomach.
You should have seen the way people
tumbled into each other when that
big blue ball hit.

One person got really excited.
He toke a chair
and hit someone on the head.
Everyone cheered!
But I didn’t.
I was too busy looking at the only other person
who didn’t cheer.

But then she started to cheer.

So I pulled the teeth out of my head stretched
my fingers until they were floppy and jumped
up and down with excitement I
too was cheering.

Leave a Reply

